Iran and all that…

Watching the news for the umpteenth time today, makes it hard not to become exasperated. With the Iran hostage situation in particular… The posturing and the propaganda. (On both sides, I add)
It does of course raise a lot of interesting points, some more valid than others, such as the comparison with illegal detention of foreign subjects in Guantanamo Bay. Or the argument that British troops shouldn’t have been in Iraq in the first place.

This however doesn’t take away the fact that Ahmadinejad essentially is a puny man.
And he behaves like he’s even smaller.
It’s pitiful really, as he’s obviously got issues, but his disagreeable manner cancels out any sympathetic tingle you might have felt.

denial2
©morland

diplomacy
©morland

The foreign secretary makes sure she’s not overlooked in the commotion, by saying that David Miliband would be reduced to a human sacrifice if he decided to run against her Gordon in the Labour leadership election.

That’s helpful…

captured
©morland

4 Responses to “Iran and all that…”

  1. jeremiasx Says:

    This is a lot of propaganda and brinksmanship being recycled from conflicts past, all bound together in a new manifesto called “Any Reason To Invade Iran” and most of us with half a brain aren’t buying it. Wake up, man.

  2. poldraw Says:

    Hehe… UAAAH!!
    I love the fact that my personal view that Ahmadinejad looks like an annoying, meager man with unresolved personal issues, is somehow a sign of me not being awake in the face of a war-hungry Bush-Blair alliance!

    Should I as someone from the left come out in support for the little bigot, just because he criticizes America and Britain?? Is that your argument?
    Are his backwards views on free speech, human rights and other liberal ideas a reason for me NOT to mock him!?

    I’m sorry to hear that you only have half a brain, but it really is no excuse.
    Whereever you are, left of right (’cause you might be interested to know that it’s not obvious from your comment), wake up, man.

  3. jeremiasx Says:

    Sorry you took it that way I didn’t mean it to be a personal attack. I’m actually so far of the current “right” that they barely have a party for me. The closest I’ve found is the “Constitution Party” although left and right are bad terms in this case, because I’m not much of an authoritarian compared to the Neocons…I guess let’s just say I’m ultra-conservative.

    I knew I would catch hell for saying “wake up man” instead of “wake up, people.” but I couldn’t edit the comment once I posted it. C’est la vie.

  4. Anorak Says:

    Ahmadinejad’s short man syndrome – Randy Newman was right. Brilliant

Leave a Reply

