Archive for July, 2009

True Blue…

July 13, 2009

I notice that a book for which I did the cover a while back, is now out on Amazon on pre-order before its launch in August.

It’s a book by journalists Chris Horrie and David Matthews – about conservative (and Conservative) middle England.
Having been lucky enough to read most of it already, I really can’t recommend it enough. It’s brilliantly written, terrifically funny – and a poignant commentary on the nature (and current state) of grass root politics.

The blurb:

Whatever happened to middle England? Two of our funniest writers set out on a journey through conservative country – with hilarious results. The Women’s Institute. Polo matches. The Duke of Edinburgh. Nimbys, shooting and game fairs. Pall Mall clubs, the Countryside Alliance and Boris Johnson. Hampshire Police’s brass band, the rubber chicken circuit – and of course the Conservative party itself. Middle England, with all the social rituals, institutions and traditions that hold it together, has lasted for a long time. And Chris Horrie and David Matthews, two left-leaning journalists – Chris is from Manchester and David’s parents are from Guyana – are fascinated by it. So off they go, armed with two ballpoints and a sharp sense of humour, to see what they can see. Sometimes, it’s as simple as hanging out at the proms, munching scones with the vicar at a village cricket match, or chatting with Michael Howard. And other times, a bit more guile is needed – so Chris and David baffle Conservative party members by helping out with their campaigns. With backgrounds as investigative reporters, the authors infiltrate Middle England and capture its denizens at their least guarded.What they find is at times cheering, and sometimes a bit worrying – but it is always very entertaining. True Blue is Bill Bryson meets Spitting Image – and a must-read for fans of John O’Farrell, Private Eye and Jon Ronson.

And here’s the cover I did, bar the text on the back.

True Blue Cover
©mørland

Pre-order now!

Sketchbook: Gordon and Military Spending…

July 13, 2009

surrender
©mørland/thetimes

From Monday’s Paper: Gordon’s defence…

July 12, 2009

Number One Priority2
©mørland/thetimes

iPhoning….

July 10, 2009

FINALLY I’m the owner of an iPhone. Joy. Joy. Joy.

I find it hard to focus on anything else.
Ironic really, to have a communication device so absorbing it makes actual communication with other people seem like an unwelcome interference.

Inspired by Patrick Blower’s latest illustrated reportage for Guardian Unlimited, and other stories of artistry on the iPhone, I’ve downloaded the Brushes app.

Patrick makes it look easy, so I had high hopes when I gave it a go this evening.
It is undoubtedly good fun to make marks on the screen with your fingertip, but it doesn’t feel like a very intuitive way to draw. Not for me anyway.
It’s a scribble tool, more than anything, so if pens, sketch books or post-it-notes are out of reach in the future, I will definitely have another go.

For now, there’s only one drawing to show, and as it’s often the case when I’m scribbling, it’s of a hairy man:

iPhone man
©mørland